Project Pan- Intro and Cleanser and Masks/Exfoliators Collection

I need to get my makeup collection under control. Although I didn’t start really getting into makeup until my late 20s, in the last 5 years or so it’s gotten out of hand. I have too much and need to be smarter about what I buy. So, I decided to embark on a project to catalog my collection, then work on a plan to get it under control. I feel like writing about it here will help keep me accountable.

My plan is to first go through and take an inventory of everything I have in each different category (cleansers, mascaras, etc) and then decide what a manageable number of products is for that category. THEN, I need to work through products until I reach the goal number for each category. Some of these will be really easy and I can get them done before the end of the year. Others will take years. But if I can at least put a plan in place I will feel less overwhelmed.

SO, here it is…my makeup/skincare collection. I tried to group the products and then go in order of how I would use them in the morning:

Cleansers

I’ve basically used Cetaphil (or the generic version) my whole life. I have normal/dry skin and have had a couple of bouts of acne in my life that required me to go on Retin-A. Anyone who’s ever been on Retin-A can tell you that it can make your skin dry and sensitive (it almost completely cleared up my acne though, so it was worth it). So Cetaphil has been a go-to of mine for 15 years. Within the last year or so I got a Clarisonic and stopped using Retin-A (I may get back on soon, this time to combat aging and the occasional hormonal breakout I get). So I am looking to try out different cleansers. As you can see, I don’t have an overload of cleansers in my stash, but I’d like to get rid of some of these samples. I was a Birchbox subscriber for 2 years and had a bad habit of stashing away samples instead of using them. Also, I’m excited to try these cleansers out! Maybe I will find one I like more than my beloved Cetaphil.

Cleansers June 2015

Total count: 12 (1 full size, 4 deluxe samples and 7 samples)

  1. Generic Cetaphil full sized (16 oz). I’ve had this one for about 8 months and there’s probably 1/8 left
  2. Clarisonic Hydro Cleanser deluxe sample (1 oz). This came with my Clarisonic and I just started using it a couple weeks ago. There is probably 25% left.
  3. Clarisonic Refreshing gel cleanser deluxe sample (1 oz). I haven’t used this at all yet.
  4. Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser deluxe sample (1 oz). This came in a Birchbox over a year ago and I’ve never used it.
  5. First Aid Beauty Deep Cleanser with Red Clay deluxe sample (1 oz). Never used
  6. SK-II Facial Treatment Cleanser sample (.1 oz). Got this as a Sephora VIB giveaway and never used it. This brand is supposed to be amazing.
  7. Fresh Soy Face Cleanser sample (.13 oz). I’ve used other samples of this product before and love it.
  8. Elizabeth Arden Skin Balancing Exfoliating Cleanser sample (.1 oz)
  9. First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser sample (.06 oz)
  10. Jack Black Deep Dive Glycolic Facial Cleanser sample (.07 oz)
  11. Eve Lom Cleanser sample (.16 oz)
  12. Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm sample (.07 oz)

This stash should be fairly easy to get through. I think having 1-2 full sized cleansers and 1-2 samples at any given time is manageable. I need to really think hard about buying any full sized products in this category though. My 16 oz Cetaphil usually lasts me a year, so I better love anything I will need to use that much!

Goal: 2-3 cleansers

Masks/Exfoliators

I like masks and exfoliators, but am not always in the habit of using them. Also, when I was on Retin-A, I had to be careful of what type of mask I used and couldn’t use exfoliators at all. Retin-A is basically a low-grade chemical peel, so there’s no need to exfoliate as the Retin-A is exfoliating for you on a daily basis. Using Exfoliakate, for example, would’ve left my skin raw and irritated. But now that I’m off Retin-A, I need to exfoliate. And now that aging is starting to become an issue (I’m almost 35), I should really get more disciplined about using masks.

Masks and Exfoliators June 2015

Total Count: 10 (9 deluxe samples, 1 sample)

  1. Kate Sommerville Exfolikate deluxe sample (.5 oz). I recently started using this 2x/week and I love it. It is probably 2/3 finished
  2. Kate Sommerville Exfolikate sample (.25 oz). Will use this when my bigger sample is gone
  3. Boscia Bright White Mask deluxe sample (.7 oz). I love this mask! It is probably half full
  4. Boscia Luminizing Black Mask deluxe sample x 2 (.7 oz). I also love this mask. 1 of the bottles is full and the other is about 1/3 full.
  5. Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment deluxe sample (.3 oz). THIS MASK IS AMAZING! But realllllllllllly expensive to buy a full sized. There is probably 1 use left in this sample 😦
  6. Peter Thomas Roth Firm Peeling Gel deluxe sample (.5 oz). I have used this a couple times and it was okay. It was kind of a pain to get off if I remember correctly.
  7. Visanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvinator deluxe sample (.7 oz). I’ve never used this
  8. Origins Clear Improvement Mask deluxe sample (.5 oz). I just got this as a Sephora giveaway.
  9. Radical Skincare Age Defying Exfoliating Pads (15 pads). I’ve never used these and honestly don’t even remember where I got them…

This is another fairly manageable part of my collection. I should be able to get through all of this by the end of the year. I just haven’t been as diligent about using them in the past. Having 2-3 masks/exfoliators in my stash is what I’m aiming for: 1-2 full sized and 1-2 samples.

Goal: 2-3 masks/exfoliators

Alright, I’m going to stop there for now. Up next….moisturizers and sunscreens!

2 comments

  1. selectiveshopping · June 7, 2015

    Good luck! I am in the same boat – I don’t know how I’ve accumulated so much. Having a dedicated plan should definitely help tackle it! 🙂

    Like

    • amateurmakeuplover · June 8, 2015

      Thanks! I think it is very easy to go crazy, especially if you have a subscription service. Add that to the samples you get from Sephora and Ulta and yeah….I could pretty much ONLY use samples for a long time and not run out. Time to get it under control! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

